The Election Commission held a press conference regarding the presidential election and briefed about the entire process including the date of the election. The commission said nomination papers for the presidential election would start on June 15 and voting would take place on July 18. The new president will be announced on the 21st after counting the votes and resolving the objections. Giving information about the presidential election process, the Chief Election Commissioner said that voting would take place only in Parliament House and Vidhan Sabha. 776 MPs and 4120 MLAs will be able to cast their votes in the presidential election. A total of 4,809 members will vote in the presidential election. In addition, the value of one vote will be 5,43,200. There must be 50 nominees for nomination. Candidates can submit nominations themselves or through nominees. No party can issue a whip regarding this election.

Incumbent President Ram Nath Kavand’s term expires on July 24. According to Article 62 of the Indian Constitution, the next president must be elected before the end of the current term. Therefore, the 16th President will have to take oath by July 25. Elections were held on July 17, 2017, three days after the results were announced on July 20.

The President is elected by the members of the Electoral College, which consists of elected members of both Houses of Parliament and elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of all the States, including the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Centrally Administered Territory of Puducherry. The President of India is elected by the Electoral College, which consists of elected members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. Nominated members of Rajya Sabha or Lok Sabha or Legislative Assemblies are not eligible to vote in this election and they do not participate in the election. Similarly, the nominated members of the Legislative Councils do not participate in the presidential election as voters.

  • Letter size
  • Close